Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

VA Boston Healthcare System


VA Boston Healthcare System Personnel

Recognition, Achievements, and Awards 

 Ann McKee

McKee named to TIME 100
Apr. 20, 2018

Ann McKee, Chief,Neuropathologist, VHA
TIME magazine has named Ann McKee, MD, Chief of Neuropathology, VA Boston Healthcare System, and Director of the BU CTE Center, to the 2018 TIME 100, its annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world. The full list and related tributes appear in the April 30 issue of TIME.


 Vincent Ng

Boston Director receives the Secretary of VA's Awards for Excellence in Nursing & for Advancement in Nursing Programs

Vincent Ng, Director, VA Boston Healthcare System

The VA Secretary's Awards in Nursing Excellence program, established in 1984, annually honors one Medical Center Diredtor, Nurse Executive (NE), Registered Nurse (RN) in a staff nurse role and one in a non-staff nurse role, i.e. advanced practice nurse, nurse manager, instructor, etc., a Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)/Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN), and a Nursing Assistant (NA) actively engaged in the care of patients at a VA Medical Center (VAMC). The recipients' contributions to the care of patients in any VA health care setting are patient-driven and demonstrate such excellence as to merit recognition from peers. This award is given only once to an individual.



Chandlee Dickee, MD

Dr. Chandlee Dickey to Receive the 2018 A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award

It is with great pleasure that we join in announcing the selection of Dr. Dickey as a recipient of the 2018 A. Clifford Barger Excellence in Mentoring Award given by Harvard Medical School.

It is widely accepted that successful career development in clinical medicine, research, teaching, and administration requires quality mentoring relationships, and with the conferral of this award, Harvard Medical School acknowledges this recognition to you.  Please click here to find the complete list of this year's recipients of the Excellence in Mentoring Awards.

Numerous Awards for VA Boston Staff

The John P. McGovern MD Award and Lecture on Addiction and Society was established in 1997 to recognize and honor an individual who has made highly meritorious contributions to public policy, treatment, research, or prevention which has increased our understanding of the relationship of addiction and society. The Award is sponsored by an endowment from the John P. McGovern Foundation.

 Christos Mantzoros

Mantzoros to receive Herman Award
Jan. 15, 2018

Christos Mantzoros, Chief, Endocrine

On behalf of the American Society for Nutrition (ASN) and its Foundation, we have the great pleasure of informing you that you have been selected to receive the 2018 Robert H. Herman Award. This award is given each year to a clinical investigator whose research work has contributed importantly to the advancement of clinical nutrition, particularly the biochemical and metabolic aspects of human nutrition.

Awards will be presented at Nutrition 2018, ASN’s new flagship meeting being held June 9-12, 2018 in Boston. 



 Ann McKee

McKee named Bostonian of the Year
Dec. 19, 2017

Ann McKee, Chief,Neuropathologist, VHA
ANN MCKEE IS AN UNLIKELY WARRIOR against football. The 64-year-old was raised in Appleton, Wisconsin, as a devoted Green Bay Packers fan. Her older brother Chuck was the star quarterback for both the public high school and private college, Lawrence University, in town. Ann, the youngest of five McKee children, idolized Chuck. Despite being a free-spirited artist who turned her bedroom walls into a psychedelic canvas, Ann scrapped her plans for an art career to follow Chuck’s footsteps into medical school.


 Ceci McVey

McVey named 2017 Nursing Award Recipient
Jan 12, 2017

Ceci McVey, Chief, Nursing Service, VHA
Ceci McVey was named the 2017 recipient of the American Nurses Association Living Legends in Massachusetts Nursing Award! This award is to recognize a nurse who has made significant lifetime contributions to the profession of nursing on a state (Massachusetts), national or international level. Two-to-three Living Nursing Legends Awards are presented each year at the ANA Massachusetts Awards Dinner Ceremony. Candidates should be nominated by a colleague. Candidates should be a current member or have been a past member of MNA when it served as the American Nurses Association (ANA) state affiliate. Candidates should have made significant contributions to the profession of nursing on a state, national or international level. Candidates are nurses whose long standing contributions over the course of their careers will serve as an inspiration to other nurses. Candidates have exhibited creativity and innovation in his/her practice and blazed trails for other nurses to follow.


Darryl Grosso  Grosso receives 2016 VISN Social Work Award

Darryl Grosso, LICSW and Community Residential Care (CRC) Coordinator received the 2016 VISN Social Work award for: "Significant Contribution in Social Work Program Initiatives/Activities Which Promotes a Culture of Improvement". Darryl was nominated by Grishelda Hogan, LICSW, who recognized him as "an outstanding leader who makes a significant contribution to quality improvement projects and veteran care. He is a valued member of the Serious Mental Illness (SMI) leadership team. The CRC program is complex and difficult to manage due to numerous variables to balance, including consults; staffing; working with veterans and 20 community based home owners; leading the steering committee; tracking status of homes; monitoring homes following safety inspections; complying with the VA Handbook, which includes medication procedures; marketing and recruitment of new sponsors; and maintaining Joint Commission and local standards."

Kilmer McCully  McCully Elected to Associsatoin of Clinical Scientist Post

September, 2013

Kilmer McCully, Ph.D.,has been elected Vice President of the Association of Clinical Scientists. The Association founded in 1949 currently has a membership consisting of over 300 pathologists, clinical chemists, microbiologists, and other clinical scientists from the United States and foreign countries.  
Terence keene  Keene Selected for Distinguished Contributions to Clinical Psychology Award

Terence M. Keane, Ph.D., selected  for the Distinguished Scientific Contributions to Clinical Psychology Award – the highest award for science by the Society of Clinical Psychology of the American Psychological Association.